Discover the outstanding site of the historic town of Huy and the fort with its impressive museum of resistance and concentration camps. The citadel was built between 1818 and 1823 on the site of the former castle "Li Tchestia", which was demolished in 1717. From May 1940 to 5 September 1944, the Germans transformed the fort into a prison camp guarded by the Wehrmacht and controlled by the geheime Feldpolizei. More than 7,000 prisoners of various nationalities were imprisoned there. Today the fort with its dark detention cells is a memorial of the Second World War. The fort with its interrogation room and the rudimentary washhouses are an intact testimony to the Nazi concentration camp universe. The tour provides an insight into the living conditions of the prisoners during the occupation and into the liberation of the city of Huy. A video completes the visit.
N.B.: Even during the closing of the citadel and museum area off-season, it is possible to take a 30 to 40 minute walk around the fortress from Rue de Napoleon to Rue Sous-le-Château or vice versa, all year round.
Free visit every 1st Sunday of the month and on 21st July.
April to October: weekdays 09:30-17:00 / weekends and public holidays 10:00-18:00.
Last entry 1 hour before closing
- Touring languages :
- Visites pour groupes :
- Visites groupes
- Facilities/Services :
- Coach park
|Article 27 rate||--|