Near to the Gileppe Dam and the Hertogenwald (forest of the Dukes), Limbourg will not fail to pique visitors' curiosity thanks to how this former stronghold has developed. This countryside town has fully conserved its charm of yesteryear as well as its remarkable architectural heritage.
On arrival at the Place Saint-Georges, now listed as major heritage of Wallonia, visitors cannot fail to be enchanted by the 18th century ambiance as well as the picturesque small streets and square cobbled with pebbles from the River Vesdre.
Furthermore, the 15th-century gothic style Saint Georges Church (currently being restored) is yet another point of interest on the walk which continues along the walls and offers magnificent views over the Vesdre Valley, the Herve plateau and the villages of Bilstain, Dolhain, Goé and The Saint Lambert Church in the village of Goé is also a remarkable site thanks to its 12th-century Romanesque baptismal fonts and its colourful stained glass windows.
The former town hall, called the "Arvô", welcomes tourists and, on its ground floor, there is a display recounting the town's history and a model of Limbourg in 1632, as well as superb fine art exhibitions (from May to September) on the first floor.
The town of Limbourg also boasts a wealth of small well-restored and abundantly flowery houses, as well as marked trails allowing visitors to discover the neighbouring hamlets.
- Touring languages :
- Facilities/Services :
- Coach park
- Languages spoken :